Solution: Google Earth: ‘DirectX’ mode not supported

I’ve been using Google Earth on various computers and laptops until i installed Google Earth on Fujitsu Lifebook S6421. The problem doesn’t lie in the proper drivers that are not installed or directx 9.0c. It should also affect: Fujitsu Lifebook S6421BW, S6420WS.

I even went to install DirectX 10 on my Windows XP. But it still fails.

Solution:
- Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Display -> Settings tab
- Click ‘Advanced’ button, ‘Troubleshoot’ tab
- Under ‘Hardware acceleration’
- Move the lever to Full
- Check ‘Enable write combining’
- Press ‘Ok’

Now try Google Earth again!

9 Comments »

  1. GGlynnD said

    Thank you for this info, Screen Virtuoso changes this Acceleration. I will watch it from now on… GGD

  2. vijay said

    i didn’t get the solution

  3. Kaj said

    my settings were already set that way..Google earth still isnt loading properly.. :/

  4. Anoop said

    Acceleration is full level.
    my settings were already set that way..Google earth still isnt loading properly.. :/

  5. Pep said

    I decreased the level of hardware acceleration a few days ago and forgot about it. So, I changed it back to “Full” and it worked. Thanks!!

  6. Tim said

    None of the suggestions on this page worked for me. Google Earth still won’t launch. Still shows “Direct X mode not supported”.

  7. Josh said

    Thank you! This was probably the sixth thing I tried and it was the first that worked!

  8. John Koclanis said

    Full Hardware Acceleration caused mouse pointer skipping on my old Sony XP but it did fix the Google Earth problem
    !

  9. Hello it’s me, I am also visiting this website daily, this
    web site is in fact pleasant and the people
    are genuinely sharing fastidious thoughts.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

